top of page
  • Melissa Granell

A Favourite Photographer and Landscape Spots

One of my favourite product photographers is Marcin Skalij. Marcin Skalij is a graduate of the Photography program at Humber College, as I shall be in 2 months :). Marcin is a product, street, and landscape photographer. I’ve actually been following him on Instagram since 2019 when he started at Humber and have seen his work progress. If you take a look at his instragram and/or website, you can see that he started off just as most of us photographers do, doing street and nature/landscape photography. For him though mostly street photography though as he lives right in the city of Toronto. Over time his work has progressed into more commercialized work but you can see that he likes to combine his love for nature/landscape into it. He also still does street and landscape photography on there own. The reason he is one of my favorite photographers is that by looking at his present and past work you can see the possession he has gone through to make his work more commercialized in order for him to make a career out of it. I also like his work because he’s still striving to keep within his work what he really loves shooting. Something I also wish to do.


There’s not much to talk about when it comes to where I do my product photography but I’ll say a little bit about it before I go on to talk about some places I've been that have made for great spots for landscape photography. With my product photography, I've just been shooting at the studio at my school but recently I’ve brought two lights are actually work pretty well for doing shoots at home. They're not high quality at all but they're small, cheap, and convenient for now until I get money for better ones. I also have two other lights that are bigger. I usually set everything up at home in a small room and then have to take it down after as my mom uses it as an office and to work out. Oh boy, I can’t wait to have my own home studio one day that I can just leave setup. Anyway on to the landscape spots. I travel a lot around the GTA and have found a lot of places that I absolutely love for hiking and landscape photography. Here are some of my favorites Scarborough Bluffs, Glen Stewart Ravine, Milliken Park, and Rouge National Urban Park. You can find more information on them here. Then some of my other favorites, Boyd Conservation Area Tail, Kortright Centre Tail, and Humber River North Tail, which can be found here alongside some other good places I’ve been to.


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How It Started

My start in the field of photography didn't start with an interest and passion for product photography work. My aim of wanting to also be a product photographer has been something I have more recently

The Creative Process

There tends to be a lot of thinking and planning that goes into my product photography shoots before I do them. I usually get brief ideas of what I want to do and then I look at google. On google, I s

bottom of page