top of page
  • Melissa Granell

How It Started

My start in the field of photography didn't start with an interest and passion for product photography work. My aim of wanting to also be a product photographer has been something I have more recently begun to put a lot more effort into. I started off with a clear idea in my mind, I wanted to be a landscape and nature photographer, and the goal was to somehow make a living off of just that. Like just being a photographer for National Geographic or whatever other nature organizations that use that kind of photography. After getting into Humber College for photography, I realized that likely wasn't going to happen for me nor was it my end goal anymore.


Through school projects, I've learned that portrait photography isn't something I have a strong passion for and although I still do portraits from time to time it isn't something I wish to focus my time on. Through other school projects, I've as well learned that architectural photography is something I strongly do not have a passion for and do not wish to do at all. I think as photographers we all have a genre or thing we just absolutely dislike shooting. Through other school projects, I've come to realize that product photography is what I like doing the most. There's just something about it to me that I feel let's me be the most creative in my own way when allowed. It's just me and the object I'm shooting, I can move however I want without having to ask it to move, I can move the lights whatever which way I want without having to worry about it being in it's eye's causing them to squint or have to worry about my object blinking or moving on me. Although I like shooting just about any kind of product photography, clothing, food, cosmetics, etc., I've very recently decided I want to go even farther than just focusing on all product photography. My focus is now on technology and video game products.


The reason I've decided to focus on one kind of product photography is that I think it's going to help my work get better. In focusing on one kind of product, I can learn and specialize the vibe, look at what clients and companies are really looking for in their products. It's also because I've comes to find that this type of product photography is one I’ll be most passionate and interested in. Making for better work. Although my main goal right now is just tech and video game products, I’ll still do some other types of products from time to time to change it up and to keep challenging myself with new experiences.


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Creative Process

There tends to be a lot of thinking and planning that goes into my product photography shoots before I do them. I usually get brief ideas of what I want to do and then I look at google. On google, I s

A Favourite Photographer and Landscape Spots

One of my favourite product photographers is Marcin Skalij. Marcin Skalij is a graduate of the Photography program at Humber College, as I shall be in 2 months :). Marcin is a product, street, and lan

bottom of page